Delft Diaries – 3

February 8, 2016 § Leave a comment

Day 6

After doing some work for the classes tomorrow, I had 2 choices:

  • Clean up my room, organize my stuff
  • Go to Rotterdam !

I chose the latter simply out of principle – was feeling lazy but but part of the idea of coming to EU was to expose myself to more people and experiences, and it worked well ! I feel more energized now after the trip.

The ‘Rotterdam’ team’s idea was to visit the iconic buildings we had researched for a design competition (which we did not win). The idea we selected bored us indeed and the idea we rejected turned out to be way more interesting.

Here are some pics from the day:
I also learned that I know very less about a lot of things. I am fairly well-read and it’s not usual to feel lost in a conversation. Yet I found myself clueless many times when talking with friends on the trip. I know nothing about chair design, almost nothing about Australian or New Zealand history, and apparently very little about Netherlands too. But again, that’s what I am here for – exploring 🙂

Day 7
Today was the first class, which covered an important topic – self management. But I found it pretty boring. First, I have thought a *lot* already about this, and I am not a big fan of an academic approach. The year with a startup has really changed my views/working style. It’s all about experimentation and data.

But I enjoyed the classroom with a smartphone and Wi-Fi access. We can browse the net and of course chat on WhatsApp while the class is going on. Gone are the days of students passing notes or reading novels in boring classes. The students of the future will have such a good time – I am jealous.

The weather has been cruel today though. Behold wind speeds of ~ 50 km/h. Which make it very tough to walk in any direction – except that of the wind. And this again made me question why I am here ! But thank heavens, good food offered by room-mate and a glass of hot milk made life much better.
Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 8.56.31 PM
First week at Delft is complete – it has been quite a ride.
From now on, I plan to update this blog every week.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Delft Diaries – 3 at Point. Blank..

meta

